Dr N Vijaya Sai
Professor & Head

The Department of Mechanical Engineering was established in the year 1977. At present, the department is offering one UG Program (B.Tech in Mechanical Engineering) with a student intake of 180 and two PG Programs M.Tech (CAD/CAM and Thermal Engineering) with a student intake of 18 each. The UG program of Mechanical Engineering was accredited by National Board of Accreditation (NBA) 4 times and the PG program of CAD/CAM was accredited by NBA in the year 2015.

The Department of Mechanical Engineering is one of the biggest departments and having 50 faculty members, with 15 PhDs.

The Department has established the Centre of Excellence in Composites funded by DST-FIST. So far, the department received around Rs. 1.63 crores research grants from various funding agencies like DST, UGC, AICTE, DRDL, DRDO, RCI& NABARD. In addition, the department was recognized as Research Centre by JNTU Kakinada and also the department was certified by ISO 9001:2015. The department provides consultancy services in the area of composites and alternate fuels.

The department has established 10 laboratories viz. Automation Lab, LMS Optimization Lab, Rapid Prototyping Lab, Robotics Lab, Advanced manufacturing Lab, Product Design and Validation Lab, CNC Lab, LMS workshop, Automobile body repair shop, and Automobile Painting Shop for skill development of young engineers in different areas in association with Siemens and Government of Andhra Pradesh.

Close Menu